Who knew isolation could actually make you physically ill.

Since Sunday I’ve been feeling particularly sick. I was shaking and weak to the point it was hard to walk around. I detoxed and detoxed but it had no effect or even made it worse.

After a lot of screaming at doctors who wouldn’t call me back (another long story), I finally got my primary who is thinking my vagus nerve is inflamed. Since I have no idea what a vagus nerve is I did some googling and asking. This nerve runs from your brain to your stomach and vice versa. This ended my confusion why all things I did to better my stomach helped my neurological symptoms.

The information on the vagus nerve is kind of limited but basically an distraught stomach or lack of use can cause issues. I can either blame this on a month late kickback from my stomach infection, the moon, or the more likely…. talking, singing, etc stimulates this nerve and makes it work and I don’t do those things.

Most days I’m by myself. I communicate 90% through emails/text/messengers and now that I think about it, talk infrequently compared to the all day, every day I used to before getting sick. Since doing diaphragm exercises, singing to music, and honestly talking to myself, I have already felt better (no miracle cure but better).

Learning this small bit of what I’m sure is a far more complicated issues, it makes me frustrated that I’ve lost connections to people in person so much so that my body has started to malfunction. When they say personal support is important to healing, that now seems like far more serious advice that I previously thought. So to anyone having issues or people with friends struggling, give them a call or go chat with them. It could have more health benefits than you thought.

Who knew isolation could actually make you physically ill.

Leave a Reply

